C0MPETITION

Joe Lowry &The Second Mile Blues Band, winners for the 2nd year of the CRBN Blues Band Showdown
Joe Lowry &The Second Mile Blues Band, winners for the 2nd year of the CRBN Blues Band Showdown
Blues Sanctuary, winners of the Albany Improvement District's competition at their Alive@5 performance.
Blues Sanctuary, winners of the Albany Improvement District’s competition at their Alive@5 performance.

It seems to me the world I live in thrives on it.  Since little, I have always shied away from them.  Other than penmanship, and earning Girl Scout badges, I don’t remember being too driven as a child, though I do know it felt darn good when I would bring home a good grade and get praise and an occasional stipend to put in the piggy bank.

In the last year or so, I have been fortunate to volunteer some energy for a non profit group that promotes and supports blues music.  The experience has opened so many doors for me.  Not have I only been able to hear some wonderful music, but a lot of really great people who are willing to share the best of themselves.

But I became apprehensive when I started hearing about ‘competitions’.

It gives me a knot in my stomach.  Fear, I am sure.  Of what, I am not so..

Overall, I have survived a couple.  Whether it be a contest or challenge for some paying gigs, a record or CD deal, or a trip to Memphis.   I have watched people compete and strive for that win.

I have been pleasantly surprised.  I know there must be undercurrents I am not aware of, and all things do not turn out as fairly as we would all like, but I have over and over been happy to see musicians competing who walk away from the experience glad they had the opportunity to play with another.  I have seen showmanship and kindness and growing experiences.  I have met people that do not have much materialistically but they will play for hours and give someone the shirt off their back to help another.  I have seen caring and support on stages when words are lost or a cord is broken.

Congratulations to the bands recently that have put their heart into playing.  You are all winners in my book.

Feedback welcome!

