I”ll be in my room pondering my next decade.

I finally figured out something about my blog here.  It is very much like hanging in my room as I did in growing years, reading, scribbling out thoughts, and dreaming.

CRBN and my cake with T-man 133
T-man and I.

It is not as dramatic or personal as my diary/journal, however.  It is a safe vehicle to go a-visiting, and a safe harbor to return to.

In less than an hour I turn ‘sixty’.  I have not always paid attention to numerical age.  It really is not the time to start now.

If you have read a little of this blog, you have seen bits and and pieces of the life I take in.  There are gardening moments.  Musicians and artists loving doing what they do.  Architecture from close and far away lands.

Life is a bit different for me lately, as I deal with degenerative physical changes from an old injury.  I stretch and ice, and work with traction in an attempt to relieve spasms.  I see myself as an African giraffe, working out the knot in her long neck.  But, as Maya Angelou once wrote, “I have pains, but I don’t need to be one.”  Unfortunately, I had to let a work position go and my whole routine has gone to hell in a hand basket.  (I love that phrase, tho I am unsure as to exactly what it means.)

In recent months, I  made the decision to move my gentlewoman’s farm out to Michigan, where I have family and lifelong friends.   I have listed my little corner here in the woods to sell and one of these days someone is going to come along and love it as I have.

In the Capital region I have felt welcomed as a part of a small community in  a blues music network, and my days have been enriched. Music and friendship are such gifts.

So, my room will be traveling, and I will be finding more music and starting up some new gardens.  ‘long story, short’ can share some Chicago blues and railroad stories.  I love the waters there and though I will miss the Catskill mountains, I will see some long miles with a clear horizon for sunrises and sunsets.  With both sons in different directions and contacts I refuse to let go of here,  I will be a frequent visitor, no doubt about it.

Was it coincidence  that I was named Wanda, ‘the  wanderer”?

When I think about my birthday it is just a date.  But  I realize this week has been just so full of life.  Both sides of the coin have been so in my face.  One day I am attending the funeral of a young friend involved in a tragic accident and the next I am playing with my favorite five year old, more or less having my cake, and eating it too.

And the 60 thing?  I am a rich woman.  There is so much to celebrate.  After all, as the poet Charles Wright says, “life is not a metaphor.”

CRBN and my cake with T-man 139
A determined Frisbee player, he is. I was encouraged to run for this. And I sure did.
CRBN and my cake with T-man 136
Heartbreaker
Michigan trip in October, 2013 089
The lights of my life.

 

 

5 thoughts on “I”ll be in my room pondering my next decade.

  1. trail-zen July 2, 2014 / 3:49 am

    Happy 60th dear ftiend.! Wishing you many grand adventures in all the years to come.

    Like

  2. loubarkman July 2, 2014 / 10:23 am

    You are shining through this writing, dear friend. Happy birthday, I can hear your voice!

    Like

  3. James R. Wright, Jr. July 2, 2014 / 11:00 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! Hope your special day was the Best!!!

    Like

  4. Kt October 18, 2016 / 11:29 pm

    ♡♡♡ i love tge photo of you and our t!!

    Like

Feedback welcome!

